Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Great value Unlimited Broadband from an award winning provider  


Highland's premier musicians compete

11th June 2015

Twelve of the Highland's most talented young musicians will gather at Eden Court's Maclean Room on Sunday (14 June) as they complete for the title of 'Highland Young Musician of the Year 2015'.

The Young Musician competition is now in its ninth year and is open to all those who are currently members of Highland Young Musicians groups with the 3 competitors judged most successful on the day receiving monetary awards and the overall winner receiving the Richardson Trophy for Musical Excellence - generously gifted by Mr. & Mrs. H.C. Richardson.

The Young Musician entrants will have spent some time on the day before the competition rehearsing with the official accompanist, then one piece from each entrants programme will be presented to the guest judges during the afternoon of the competition day and the panel will spend some time with each competitor chatting about their musical aspirations before the judges decide who will present their complete programmes in the public final which begins at 7pm.

Whilst the judges deliberate their prize-winners decisions at the end of the evening, last year's winner, Susannah Mack (former Dingwall Academy pupil) will entertain the audience with a violin programme before receiving her winners quaich as she hands over the beautiful crystal trophy to this year’s overall winner.

"‘This competition provides an ideal opportunity for some of our most talented young musicians to compete at an extremely high level" said Norman Bolton, The Highland Council’s Music Development Officer. "Entrants this year cover a wide range of ages and instrumental disciplines. Although this is a competition, the atmosphere is positive and supportive and the determination to compete at this level is a credit to the dedication of all the entrants."

The competition is generously supported by Wallace Stone, Consulting Civil Engineers; JBT Distribution; Parcelinq; The Highland Council and Friends of Highland Young Musicians. The general public are invited to attend the final at 7pm. Entry to this is by donation (with a suggested minimum of £5)

2015 competitors are:

Amber-Rose Ness trombone Inverness High School
Lewis Clarkson tenor sax Millburn Academy
Iona Wallace trombone Millburn Academy
Adam Forsythe piano Grantown Grammar School
Zoe Hodi violin Aberdeen City Music School, Dyce
Oyuntsatsral Little violin Dingwall Academy
Olivia Paulin oboe Dingwall Academy
Laura Rea flute Dingwall Academy
Catriona Mackenzie piano St. Mary’s Music School, Edinburgh
Hattie McGregor cello Resolis Primary
Abigail Millar-Todd harp Fortrose Academy
Rachel Spence viola Fortrose Academy

[Printer Friendly Version]